Population 153.12 Million 2013
GDP $108.98 Billion 2013
GDP Growth 5.3% 2013
Inflation 6.2% 2013
The East African Community (EAC) is the regional intergovernmental organisation of the Republics of Kenya, Uganda, the United Republic of Tanzania, Republic of Rwanda and Republic of Burundi with its headquarters in Arusha, Tanzania.

The Treaty for Establishment of the East African Community was signed in 1999 and entered into force in 2000 following its ratification by the original three Partner States – Kenya, Uganda and Tanzania.

The Republic of Rwanda and the Republic of Burundi acceded to the EAC Treaty became full Members of the Community with effect from 1 July 2007.

On economic performance, total aggregate output (at current prices) for the region amounted toUS$ 84.7 billion in 2011, compared to US$ 79.9 billion in 2009.Total per capita ranged from US$ 264 in Burundi to US$ 862.4 in Kenya. The dominant sector in all the partner states in2010 was agriculture, followed by wholesale and retail trade and manufacturing. The transport and communication sub-sector has consistently been improving its contribution to GDP.

On other macroeconomic performance indicators, the annual headline and underlying inflation rates was higher in all Partner States in 2011 compared to the previous year. The rising inflation was attributed to low agricultural production and high fuel prices recorded in 2011.

Results in EAC

Enhanced trade

  • no-Imgae

    Procurement Processes

    Procurement processes directed through Sun system.

  • no-Imgae

    EAMS Reporting

    % of key implementers reporting using EAMS.

  • no-Imgae

    SCT Implementation

    Countries implementing Single Customs Territory - Kenya, Rwanda and Uganda.